Society of Human Resource Professionals

Is the world’s largest HR professional society, representing 285,000 members in more than 165 countries. Serving the needs of HR professionals and advancing the practice of human resource management through education, thought leadership, certification, community and advocacy.

Recertification will be required every three years. Professionals will need to earn 60 professional development credits (PDCs) in order to recertify.

All courses are approved for CPD. (Continuing Professional Development Credits)


24 products
Your Recertification Requirements

SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP CREDENTIAL HOLDERS MUST: Earn 60 professional development credits (PDCs) within a 3-year recertification period that ends on the last day of the credential holder’s birth month OR Retake the certification exam at the end of the 3-year recertification period.

Entering Your Professional Development Credits


Keep track of your professional development activities.


Log on to and enter your SHRM login e-mail address and password.

Certification Portal »


Click on "Add PDCs" and then choose the related PDC category:

  • Advance Your Education
  • Advance Your Organization
  • Advance Your Profession


In the Advance Your Education category, input the Activity ID Number field (if one is provided), click "Search," and view the populated activity details. Confirm that this information is correct. Click "Submit" to save the PDCs in your Portal.

If an Activity ID was not provided, or for PDCs that fall under the Advance Your Organization or Advance Your Profession categories, manually input the information requested.


After you've earned all 60 PDCs and are ready to submit your application, click on "Apply for Recertification" link. This link will be visible one year into your recertification period.

When entering PDCs, ensure that the activities you enter occurred between the beginning and end dates of your three-year recertification period. You must wait until the activity end date to record any activity.

PLEASE NOTE: It is recommended that all professional development activities be logged in the SHRM Certification Portal upon completion. Please track all professional development activities during your 3-year recertification period, even those beyond the required 60 PDCs or a category maximum.

A Recertification Audit - What you need to know.

In order to protect the integrity of the SHRM-CP and SHRM-SCP certification program, SHRM will audit a percentage of recertification applications. It is important to document your professional development activities and retain these records for up to six months after the end of your 3-year recertification period. If you are audited, you will be required to verify, with supporting documentation, the activities and PDCs listed on your recertification application.

Please submit all supporting documentation to satisfy the audit in one submission. You will have 30 days to submit your audit documentation. From the time all audit documentation is received, notification as to the outcome of the audit review will occur within 30 days.

Your SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP credential may be revoked if you are unable to provide supporting documentation when audited, or if you do not meet the 60-PDC minimum per 3-year recertification period. (Supporting documentation is not required unless you are chosen for audit.)

For more information on the recertification audit process, please download the Recertification Handbook.

What is the SHRM Body of Competency and Knowledge (SHRM BoCK™)?

The SHRM Body of Competency and Knowledge (SHRM BoCK™) is the basis for the SHRM credentials.

The SHRM BoCK describes the behavioral competencies and HR knowledge which HR professionals need for effective job performance.

The SHRM BoCK organizes eight behavioral competencies into three clusters:

  1. Leadership (Leadership & Navigation, Ethical Practice),
  2. Interpersonal (Relationship Management, Communication, Global & Cultural Effectiveness),
  3. Business (Business Acumen, Consultation, Critical Evaluation).

Additionally, the SHRM BoCK organizes 15 areas of HR knowledge which comprise the technical competency HR Expertise into three domains:

  • People (HR Strategic Planning, Talent Acquisition, Employee Engagement & Retention, Learning & Development, Total Rewards),
  • Organization (Structure of the HR Function, Organizational Effectiveness & Development, Workforce Management, Employee & Labor Relations, Technology Management),
  • Workplace (HR in the Global Context, Diversity & Inclusion, Risk Management, Corporate Social Responsibility, U.S. Employment Law & Regulations*)